Enchanted Realms Rulebook
Reactions
Sometimes reactions become misunderstood by players from the OSR-inspired style of games. A reaction is not an extra action, not a bonus maneuver. These are potential responses to specific incidences in combat. Perhaps a “trigger” is a better way to explain what permits the use of a reaction. That said, the use of reactions is not unlimited. Like only one action is permitted in a combat round, only one reaction is granted for a like duration. As such, reactions become a strategic aspect of an Enchanted Realms fight. In that vein, this section will address the timing and details of the most common reactions.
There is a rule in other systems that limit magical spells to one per round; however, that is not true here. Some incantations and axioms can be cast as a reaction rather than an action. This means that it is possible for two magic spells to be used within the same round. The limitation is based on one action and one reaction rather than any other type-based mechanic.
Dodge & Deflect
One of the most common reactions in combat is dodge or similar skill usage performed to avoid or reduce damage. Skills include dodge, deflect missiles, deflect bolts, rebuff as well as several others. The specific mechanics will be explained in the skill description; however, most work very similarly. The key part for this section is how to use the reaction; thus, the question is: “What is the trigger?” For these skills, the event or trigger is basically suffering Body damage. Now, as a pedantic detail, the trigger isn't really when suffering damage but rather a minimal moment just before receiving the damage, as the reaction has the chance to prevent or lessen the wounding.
However, the method of delivery may limit what reaction can be taken. For a melee strike, dodge or rebuff would be used. If struck by an arrow, then one of the deflection skills would be used for the reaction. Of course, remember that the character or creature must have that skill or equivalent trait to enact such a reaction. Further, only one reaction can be used per round; thus, to dodge the attack, an available reaction must exist.
There are also enhancements to the dodge skill, including some the turn back damage. Because of the different reactions that might be used to reduce or avoid damage, it is important to read the description to know when and how it is applied. Sometimes the d6 adjustment roll will be applied against the lowest successful d20, while other times it will be compared to the highest roll. Further, it could be that a character is in under the disadvantage restriction; thus, how the dice are rolled for the reaction is important to understand. Unless stated otherwise, this would be rolling two d6 and selected the lesser or the greater of the two rolls.
Flee Attack (No More)
The terms “attack of opportunity” and “flee attack” probably sound like the same thing and while they both existed in previous versions of the game, it is VITAL TO NOTE that the “flee attack” no longer exists due to the changes in the movement system of combat.
When a creature moves through the adjacent space around someone, without challenging that someone, and that someone has a melee weapon at the ready as well as an available reaction, this permits an attack of opportunity. On the other hand, the obsolete flee attack was a reaction used to strike at a retreating (fleeing) foe who has not moved away using an action to withdraw in a defensive manner. Thus, this circumstance is not a valid form of an attack of opportunity.
There are other conditions that must be met to use a reaction as an attack of opportunity. First, the character with the potential to use the reaction must be stationary and must have been stationary since the last movement option. Second, as stated in the general explanation, the character must have a weapon (or ability to use a savage attack) in the moment the reaction is called. If these conditions are met and the player (or NPC) chooses, then an attack of opportunity can be used as a reaction.
While it is a valid option, it will not be chosen very often for an abundant number of reasons. During the closing phase, it is not unreasonable for several foes to run in close proximity as a stationary combatant, but fighters often choose not to waste their one reaction to swing at a passerby; often saving that reaction for a more important event once engaging the desired target. This is especially true if said combatant has a dodge skill. Another reason is the attack of opportunity, being somewhat of a wild swipe at an un-menacing target, it is typically not as effective as other options. Further, that fighter may have to make a small movement for positioning, which would ruin the prerequisite condition to use this reaction. Lastly, the range for this attack is five feet or one-hex, even if the armed weapon has a longer reach.
That said, this is a valid reaction to use. With an attack of opportunity, as stated earlier, it is a bit of a haphazard bonus attack. It does not allow one’s full potential to be used, but instead it has a maximum of 2d20 that can be used from a standard attack. Further, no specialty skills, such as heavy blow, bleed or shield-blitz can be used in the melee attack. Finally, the attack must come from the the primary hand or savage attack. In the end, even if 2d20s can be used and both actually succeed, the damage is limited to the 1 point for that die, the Weapon Wgt value and any Strength modifier, making the best damage inflicted somewhere around five points. Of course, if there is a throng of small attackers, a line of fighters using this reaction might make a dent in the oncoming attack; thus, it does have valid uses.
Finally, it should be understood that some special attack methods, usually by monsters, will not provoke an attack of opportunity. One such example is a low-to-the-ground fly-by breath weapon. While the aerial attack may seem to be in an adjacent hex, the last moment lift takes the creature out of reach for the reaction. Other examples could be attacking from the surface of the water and diving back down; or phasing out of stone or earth for a melee strike then moving back into such special protection. The GM will adjudicate for any questionable circumstance.
Dismount
Dismounting has a movement penalty; however, there are times when the choice is not that of the rider. In circumstances where one’s mount stops unexpectedly, perhaps due to netting or other restraint, perhaps the beast was suddenly slain, but in such cases, the rider would be thrown from the mount due to momentum. When this occurs, the rider can choose to use a reaction to land on his or her feet rather than crashing into the ground. However, when doing this, a successful Agility check (TM:10) must be made to descend safely. Even if failing the save, the rider suffers only half the normal damage from the fall and will further roll up to a standing position, thereby avoiding the prone restriction from being thrown. Either way, the movement penalty for dismounting will still apply.
It should be clearly understood that the trigger for this reaction is due to the abrupt lack of movement of one’s mount, and that this applies only to mounts that traverse the ground. This reaction cannot be used against special attacks designed to forcefully remove a rider, such as from a ranseur. Those attacks will have detailed explanations for the consequences and what the rider must roll in response.
Impalement
When wielding a polearm and also having obtained the style: polearms skill, a special impalement maneuver can be used as a reaction so long as the weapon delivers piercing damage and/or the weapon explicitly permits this reaction. For example, the ula is an exception to the piercing-damage rule; details on that weapon should be read specific to this maneuver.
One could think of this as a preemptive attack of opportunity under very precise conditions. Should an opponent using some method of melee attack, including savage fighting or unarmed combat, and that opponent closes from 20 feet or farther to engage and attack, then an impalement reaction can be used. This is true even if the target of engagement is not the wielder of the polearm; however, the wielder of the pole must be adjacent or directly behind the intended target for the reaction to still be valid.
To be clear, this is a reaction; the armed poleman is still allowed a normal attack in the same round. To be even clearer, this could never be combined with a sneak attack, as it is a reaction.
With the trigger defined, next to discuss in the timing. This is not a reaction to the attack but rather to the rapid rush to the location. As such, this reaction interrupts the action prior to the attacker rolling his or her d20s for attack. It also occurs ten feet (two-hexes) away with all; with special weaponry the range might be fifteen feet. Nonetheless, the result of the impalement will happen before the originating attack. If the reaction damage incapacitates the attacker first, then the initiating attack is nullified.
With the base skills required to perform an impalement maneuver, a total of 3d20 are rolled in the reaction; 1d20 for a polearm attack and 2d20 for the impalement. However, if the pikeman has weapon forte in the specific polearm being used, then 4d20 are rolled. Lastly, any special occurrences associated with the weapon, such as the heavy property, will also convey normally. For example, a glaive would still inflict disadvantage if any raw die score were 18 or higher.
Because the pikeman does not have to be the intended target, merely adjacent, for this reaction to be used, a line of protectors using polearms can produce serious damage against a brave combatant charging into battle. Additionally, such a line of pikeman can make a strategic withdrawal to provide further protection to another ally.
Maneuver Response
Opponents may have special maneuvers that permit a reaction. One such example is the drive skill, which forces an opponent backwards. However, when making such a maneuver, the target is allowed to use a reaction to avoid the effect. In each of these cases, the description of the skill will have the specific details for how the reaction will work.
Paired With Action
In some cases, a reaction is used at the same time as an action. This has already been discussed when making a touch-based attack. Another example is when using a knockout blow with some sort of enhancement in hand, such as knuckledusters or blackjack. Some of these reactions are risks taken where the reaction will be lost regardless of the outcome, while others are contingent upon the success of the action. Thus, these types should also have the descriptions read carefully.
Standing Up
When one is in the prone position, a reaction can be used to stand rather than waiting until the start of his or her turn. Much of this has already been discussed in the Ground Rules subsection, but this description should clarify a few additional points.
Movement is free but certain changes in position require either a full action or the use of a reaction with a movement cost. Standing up from being prone is one of those requirements. Thus, to stand one must either sacrifice an action or a reaction (player’s choice) to accomplish this. Most often, the reaction will be selected, as it can be used at the start of the round or just after being knocked down.
As explained, using the reaction will still incur penalties to movement. That penalty is half of the standard movement for the creature’s species: 20 feet for human, 15 feet for dwarf, etc. It is not half the character’s standard movement, as it might be enhanced by magic or skills; thus, the species standard is used instead. However, this may be why the action to stand is used rather than a reaction, as selecting the action will not incur the movement penalty and it is effective instantly.
The timing for standing up is important as well. When prone and standing up with a reaction, there is a d4 delay on the initiative counter for when the new position changes. In the interim, the prone restriction is still applied. Also, if the delay extends beyond end of the round, then use an “around the corner” technique to determine the appropriate second-counter in the following round. Thus, if the reaction is used in second-counter:2 and the delay is 4 seconds, then standing will be effective in 10 of the subsequent round. To reiterate, if using an action instead of a reaction, standing up happens immediately.
Finally, the reference to standing up here applies only from a prone position. As a rule, standing from a chair is not considered as having been prone. Of course, the GM might rule differently if perhaps someone had been shoved into the seat.