Rules

Enchanted Realms Rulebook

 
 Basic Game Rules 
 Advanced Mechanics 
 Reactions

Reactions

“You did respond — your response was the worst kind — you did nothing.” —Emily Franklin

Sometimes reactions become misunderstood by players from the OSR-inspired style of games. A reaction is not an extra action, not a bonus maneuver. These are potential responses to specific incidences in combat. Perhaps a “trigger” is a better way to explain what permits the use of a reaction. That said, the frequency to use reactions is not unlimited. Once using a reaction, there is a cool-down period before another reaction can be used. That value is a static count of 8 seconds with no modifiers. It will not be noted in the Roll20 tracker, but instead, the flex marker will be displayed on the character’s token, which will disappear 8 counts later.

In terms of timing, unless stated differently in the description, a reaction occurs immediately after the trigger condition occurs. Should the reaction interrupt another creature’s turn, such as when impalement is used, then that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction is processed.

Some reactions are basic ones which anyone can perform, while others require a skill (or possibly a magic spell) to be able to use. Lastly, reactions are a choice, not a requirement. Often one might choose to forego one reaction to be able to have a different one available a few moments later.

Dodge & Deflect

One of the most common reactions in combat is dodge or similar skill usage performed to avoid or reduce damage. Skills include dodge, deflect missiles, deflect bolts, rebuff as well as several others. The specific mechanics will be explained in the skill description; however, most work very similarly. The key part for this section is how to use the reaction; thus, the question is: “What is the trigger?” For these skills, the event or trigger is basically suffering Body damage. Now, as a pedantic detail, the trigger isn't really when suffering damage but rather a minimal moment just before receiving the damage, as the reaction has the chance to prevent or lessen the wounding.

However, the method of delivery may limit what reaction can be taken. For a melee strike, dodge or rebuff would be used. If struck by an arrow, then one of the deflection skills would be used for the reaction. Of course, remember that the character or creature must have that skill or equivalent trait to enact such a reaction. Further, a reaction cannot have been used in the previous 8 seconds to dodge an attack.

There are also enhancements to the dodge skill, including some the turn back damage. Because of the different reactions that might be used to reduce or avoid damage, it is important to read the description to know when and how it is applied, even if using the macros from the VTT. Sometimes the d6 adjustment roll will be applied against the lowest successful d20, while other times it will be compared to the highest roll. Further, it could be that a character is in under the disadvantage restriction; thus, how the dice are rolled for the reaction is important to understand. Often when at disadvantaged, one cannot use some reactions; however, if a disadvantaged dodge or deflect reaction would be rolling two d6 and selected the lesser of the two rolls. The greater of the two d6s would be if the reaction is at advantage.

Flee Attack (No More)

The terms “attack of opportunity” and “flee attack” probably sound like the same thing and while they both existed in previous versions of the game, it is VITAL TO NOTE that the “flee attack” no longer exists due to the changes in the movement system of combat.

When a creature moves through the adjacent space around someone, without challenging that someone, and that someone has a melee weapon at the ready as well as an available reaction, this permits an attack of opportunity. On the other hand, the obsolete flee attack was a reaction used to strike at a retreating (fleeing) foe who has not moved away using an action to withdraw in a defensive manner. However, due to the new changes for the movement system, this trigger condition no longer applies. Further, the concept of retreating when previously being engaged in combat should not be viewed as an attack of opportunity.

An attack of opportunity is fairly precise with several conditions that must be met to use as a reaction. First, the character with the potential to use the reaction must be stationary and must have been stationary since the last movement opportunity. Second, as stated in the general explanation, the character must have a weapon (or ability to use a savage attack) in the moment the reaction is called. If these conditions are met and the player (or NPC) chooses, then an attack of opportunity can be used as a reaction.

While it is a valid option, often it will not be chosen for an abundant number of reasons. During the closing phase, it is not unreasonable for several foes to run in close proximity as a stationary combatant, but fighters often choose not to waste their one reaction to swing at a passerby; often saving that reaction for a more important event once engaging the desired target. This is especially true if said combatant has a dodge skill. Another reason is the attack of opportunity, being somewhat of a wild swipe at an un-menacing target, it is typically not as effective as other options. Further, that fighter may have to make a small movement for positioning, which would ruin the prerequisite condition to use this reaction. Lastly, the range for this attack is five feet or one-hex, even if the armed weapon has a longer reach.

All that said, this is still a valid reaction to use. With an attack of opportunity, as stated earlier, it is a bit of a haphazard bonus attack. It does not allow one’s full potential to be used, but instead it has a maximum of 2d20 that can be used from a standard attack. Further, no specialty skills, such as heavy blow, bleed or shield-blitz can be used in the melee attack. Finally, the attack must come from the the primary hand or savage attack. In the end, even if 2d20s can be used and both actually succeed, the damage is limited to the 1 point for that die, the Weapon Wgt value and any Strength modifier, making the best damage inflicted somewhere around five points. Of course, if there is a throng of small attackers, a line of fighters using this reaction might make a dent in the oncoming attack; thus, it does have its purpose.

Finally, it should be understood that some special attack methods, usually by monsters, will not provoke an attack of opportunity. One such example is a low-to-the-ground fly-by breath weapon. While the aerial attack may seem to be in an adjacent hex, the last moment lift takes the creature out of reach for the reaction. Other examples could be attacking from the surface of the water and diving back down; or phasing out of stone or earth for a melee strike then moving back into such special protection. The GM will adjudicate for any questionable circumstance.

Dismount

Speed of MountDamageReaction FailedReaction Success
  Black Towerd3; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Gray Yakd4; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Brown Cowd6; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Red Fox2d4; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Orange Lion2d6; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Yellow Bird2d6+2; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Green Horse2d6+4; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Blue Gryphon2d6+6; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op
  Purple Lightning2d6+8; prone½dmg; proneLose next move-op

A dismount reaction might be confused with the standard movement of getting down from one’s steed, but it is a different maneuver. The reaction can be used when the removal from the mount is unexpected or unchosen. For example, when one’s mount stops unexpectedly, perhaps due to netting or other restraint, perhaps the beast was suddenly slain, but in such cases, the rider is being thrown from the mount due to momentum. When this occurs, the rider can choose to use a reaction to land on his or her feet rather than crashing into the ground.

Before discussing the mechanics of the maneuver, it should be clear there are a few potential circumstances to consider before being allowed to use this reaction. First, special saddles that strap the rider in would void the option of this reaction. While special saddles are helpful to avoid the detriment of the ranseur, it makes it impossible to dismount quickly as a reaction. While on the topic of the ranseur, this reaction is not permitted as a defense against special attacks, such as that polearm or other similar specializations. The option to use the dismount reaction is limited to being able to free oneself from the steed instantly and under one’s on volition due to an unexpected pace change.

Once determining the reaction can be used, then a successful Agility check (TM:10) must be made to descend safely within two hexes of location triggering the initial reaction, but the next movement opportunity is lost to maintain one’s balance. However, even if failing the save, the rider suffers only half the normal damage from the fall but still becomes the prone from being thrown. Because of this reduction in damage even when failing, this type of reaction will often be used, but it is a choice. There might be circumstances where the rider chooses the damage to keep a reaction available for the other conditions on the battlefield.

Impalement

When wielding a polearm and also having obtained the style: polearms skill, a special impalement maneuver can be used as a reaction so long as the weapon delivers piercing damage and/or the weapon explicitly permits this reaction. For example, the ula is an exception to the piercing-damage rule; details on that weapon should be read specific to this maneuver.

One could think of this as a preemptive attack of opportunity under very precise conditions. Should an opponent using some method of melee attack, including savage fighting or unarmed combat, and that opponent closes from 20 feet or farther to engage and attack or uses a charging skill to extend movement before the attack, then an impalement reaction can be used. This is true even if the target of attack is not one using the reaction; however, the wielder of the pole must be adjacent or directly behind the intended target for the reaction to still be valid.

To be clear, this is a reaction; this does not interrupt the action-sequence of the armed poleman. To be even more clear, this can never be combined with a sneak attack, as it is a reaction.

With the trigger defined, next to discuss is timing. This is not a reaction to the attack but rather to the rapid rush to the location. That movement could be part of a special attack, but most often the trigger will be the distance closed during movement rather than the attack itself. When the charging attacker is within ten feet (two hexes), then the reaction occurs. In special cases and with special weaponry, the distance might be fifteen feet (three hexes). Even if that distance is closed during a special attack that permits movement during the attack, the result of the impalement will happen before the originating attack. If the impalement damage incapacitates the attacker first, then its attack is nullified, even if this happens on the attacker’s turn. If it is occurring on the attacker’s turn but the impalement doesn't disable the one charging, then the attacker will continue with its strike after the reaction is calculated.

With the base skills required to perform an impalement maneuver, a total of 3d20 are rolled in the reaction; 1d20 for a polearm attack and 2d20 for the impalement. However, if the pikeman has weapon forte in the specific polearm being used, then 4d20 are rolled. Lastly, any special occurrences associated with the weapon, such as the heavy property, will also convey normally. For example, a glaive would still inflict disadvantage if any raw die score were 18 or higher.

One further wrinkle here is if the charge comes from a cavalryman. It that case, the attack might be used against the steed rather than the rider. Should the mount be killed from the impalement maneuver (or from even more than one), then this would create an unexpected change of pace for the cavalier (see dismount above); thus, placing a trigger in response to the reaction, because the rider might be thrown from the horse. Work everything backwards -- the impalement killed the horse; the horse stops; the rider is thrown; the rider might react with a dismount; determine new location for rider; continue with all other actions in queue.

Tactically speaking, as the pikeman does not have to be the intended target, merely adjacent, for this reaction to be used, a line of protectors using polearms can produce serious damage against a brave combatant charging into battle. Additionally, such a line of pikeman can make a strategic withdrawal to provide further protection to another ally.

Knockback

This reaction is uses at the end of a successful strike. It is typically limited to polearms, may require certain skills to be obtained and has to be applied on an opponent struck by reach of at least 10 feet (two hexes). If these conditions are met, and if the attack action is successful, then the pikeman may opt to use this reaction. When applying this reaction, it forces the opponent to make a Strength save (TM:12). Failure indicates the opponent has been pushed back 5 feet. This reaction only works on victims must of medium-size or smaller.

Knockdown

This reaction is similar to knockback and requires the appropriate equipment and skills. This reaction also is used when successfully striking an opponent with reach at 10 feet (two hexes) or more. In such cases, the pikeman may opt to use this reaction, forcing a tripping competition (d12) against Agility. This is calculated as the pole attack being a static 4 plus the Strength modifier. If the attacker wins the competition, then the opponent is knocked prone in his or her location.

Sting

This is another polearm add-on to a successful attack, using a reaction to add an additional effect against the opponent. A successful strike from 10 or more feet (two hexes) is required to enact this reaction. However, by doing so, the attack was aimed at a key nerve point, which inflicts d4 points of Pain if the victim fails a Resilience save TM:10). This is typically only effective against hominoid creatures; however, the GM may rule differently for special cases.

Maneuver Response

Opponents may have special maneuvers that permit a reaction. One such example is the drive skill, which forces an opponent backwards. However, when making such a maneuver, the target is allowed to use a reaction to avoid the effect. In each of these cases, the description of the skill will have the specific details for how the reaction will work; however, the GM should make it clear that an atypical reaction is allowed and explain how it works.

Paired With Action

In some cases, a reaction is used at the same time as an action. This has already been discussed when making a touch-based attack. Another example is when using a knockout blow with some sort of enhancement in hand, such as knuckledusters or blackjack. Some of these reactions are risks taken where the reaction will be lost regardless of the outcome, while others are contingent upon the success of the action. Thus, these types should also have the descriptions read carefully.

Standing Up

When one is in the prone position, a reaction can be used to stand rather than waiting until the start of his or her turn to use an action. Much of this has already been discussed in the Ground Rules subsection, but this description should clarify a few additional points.

While most movement occurs on movement opportunities, certain changes require either a full action or the use of a reaction. Standing up from being prone is one of the best examples. Thus, to stand one must either sacrifice an action or a reaction (player’s choice) to accomplish this. Most often, the reaction will be selected, as the reaction can be used during a movement opportunity and those occur more frequently than does an action.

As explained previously, standing up as a reaction is announced when desired; however, completing that change in condition does not occur instantly. Instead after two unused movement opportunities have passed, then at the end of the second one, the character has returned to his or her feet and is no longer prone. There are skills which may allow the reaction to decrease the duration before regaining one’s feet. Nonetheless, using the action to stand does not require any sacrifice of movement; it also is instantly effective.

Finally, the reference to standing up here applies only from a prone position. As a rule, standing from a chair is not considered as having been prone. Of course, the GM might rule differently if perhaps someone had been shoved into the seat.