Online Viewer of Enchanted Realms Monsters

Dracos are large reptilian creatures of ancient origin and tremendous power. True dragons are highly intelligent and have innate magic. Also, in this category are creatures related to true dragons or hybrids of some sort known as dragonoids.
Dracos are not like other mythical creatures as often their magical properties can persist even after death. Unless stated differently in the specific description, dracos are not affected by spirit-influenced forces; thus, any spirit preservation save is automatically made by a member of the dracos kingdom.
True dragons grow is five distinct phases, but their related cousins, dragonoids seem to age more similar to normal animals than actual dragons. Of course, there is a great mystery around the biological breeding of dragons; however, those of the dragonoid subgroup do have “dracos” life-energy in their aura. The biological link has been confirmed by sages.
What creates great confusion, however, is the biological gestation and reproduction of the dracos. Even in true dragons, an egg may hatch within days of its laying or it may be dormant for a century before hatching. The causality and catalysts of this are genuinely a mystery. Further, while difficult to prove, most sages insist that all true dragons are female, capable of laying eggs. Should that be accurate, then fertilization and the existence of dragonoids defies traditional biology.
True Dragons
There are three types of true dragons, and sages believe that their spirits may be immortal. Part of this belief is based on the incubation time for a dragon egg is extremely variable from days to decades. Additionally, the frequency and rate of laying dragon eggs have no defined pattern either. Finally, the biology of true dragons defies normal. They are unisex creatures, or perhaps all are female – as any dragon may produce an egg. All of this phenomenon has led scholars to theorize that dragons are reborn into existing eggs upon their deaths. This has led to some dragon-slayers to destroy eggs before they can hatch; however, most dragon-savants hold to the convention that new eggs are laid to replace ruined ones.
Dragons go through five phases of growth from hatchling to pupa to grown to magical to reification. The first stage is the hatchling, where the new dragon breaks out of its pumpkin-sized egg. Dragon eggs are spherical with a thick dark-colored shell, looking much like a gigantic avocado, but feeling much like a stone.
The hatchling phase lasts only three to four days, but during that time, the baby dragon eats almost continuously, consuming what seems like far more than its own body weight. After a few days, the creature will have grown to nearly five feet in length. At this time, the dragon will suspend itself upside down, similar to a bat, while a secretions ooze from its scales to cocoon itself.
Pupa: During the next seven to ten days, the dragon grows inside the cocoon, as its overall size becomes massive. When emerging from its second hatching, the dragon is physically fully grown with its length (snout-to-rump) being about 35 feet and a wingspan of close to 80 feet.
During the grown stage of life, the dragon can utilize its terrifying breath weapon once per hour. This stage of a dragon’s life exists for the next three years and her mind and spirit scores will have reached a value of 2.
Beginning on its third anniversary of hatching, for each three years until her 99th year, the dragon gains one spell point to be used for sorcery. The first point indicates the first decade of magic, where the dragon will innately know a one-point axiom. With each passing decade, as she gains a new sorcery point, a new axiom comes into the dragon’s essence, which will be the point-equivalent of the decade. Thus, at 12 years of age, a dragon gains her fourth spell point and gains an axiom that costs 2 points to cast, such as blink. At age 21, she will have 7 points and gain a 3-point cost spell. And so on until reaching 51 years of age, where she will have 17 spell points and an axiom which costs 6 spell points to cast. This is the gaining of axioms ends; however, for each three years after, the dragon will continue to gain spell points until the end of this phase.
A few other benefits for a dragon to be in the magic stage of its life is that its breath weapon becomes available more often. For each decade, years 3 to 9, 10 to 19 and so on, five minutes is removed from the once per hour warm-up duration required to use the breath weaopn again. Thus at 20 years, she can use it every 45 minutes, but at age 90, she can breath once every ten minutes.
The mind and spirit scores also increases with each passing decade. Each begins the stage at 3, but at age 10, her mind and spirit scores increase to 4. This continues until reaching 90 where both will become 12. Below is a table of significant changes during the magic stage.
3New (1)1355 min
10 3450 min
12New (2)4  
20 6545 min
21New (3)7  
30New (4)10640 min
40 13735 min
42New (5)14  
50 16830 min
51New (6)17  
60 20925 min
70 231020 min
80 261115 min
90 301210 min
99 33  
Finally, after one hundred years, the dragon enters the reification stage of her existence. This is when abstract thought manifest upon a dragon in real and actual ways. This is miraculous and different for every dragon. This is when extremely powerful forces become a permanent part of her being. Such a power is either constantly in effect or can be used at will on her turn without interfering with the dragon’s other actions, such as combat or spell-casting. Thus, it may be a regenerative power of 3 body points per round. Or perhaps the ability to access to other planes of existence.
With this great maturity, the breath weapon of a dragon also becomes available to use more frequently. Dragons over 100 years old can release their breath attack one every minute (or six combat rounds). As such, true dragons are not to be trifled with. There are known incidents of a dragon repelling a group of elementals or banishing a demon prince. Of course, dragons have also known to perform raids on the hells themselves. Dragons are so powerful that there has been a history of groups and societies envisioning them as great spirits of the universe – and sometimes even worshipped as gods.
Finally, this brings us to the three categories of true dragons: Fire, Ice and Voltaic. As one might suppose, these refer to the breath weapon of each. The horrific breath weapon inflict damage according to its type into an area as described by dragon type. When breathing, all caught in the area must make a body preservation save (DC:14). Any failing the save will suffer the full amount, which is 2d4 body points of damage. Those who make a successful save only suffer half the damage. Fire dragons extend a cone of flame for 25 feet (15 hexes). Ice dragons have a breath weapon of a cloud of icy frost, which it spills out 25 feet wide and 15 feet deep (15 hexes). Breath weapons of voltaic dragons is directed blast of electricity, just like a lightning bolt, extends 60 feet (12 hexes).
True dragons also have invulnerability to the damage of their breath. Further, fire dragons have resistance to cold; ice dragons are resistant to lightning; and voltaic have resistance to fire.